Important Cookie Information

This website uses absolutely necessary cookies. If you consent to the use of convenience cookies, please click “Yes, I agree.” By clicking on “Privacy Settings.” you can change this setting at any time and withdraw your given consent. Icon down see more You can find detailled information in our Privacy Policy Icon forward-right
Icon up see less

Bosch Building Technologies

    cancel
    Showing results for 
    Search instead for 
    Did you mean: 

    How To Move a Storage Device to another VRM without loosing Recordings

    Rate this article:
    100% helpful (1/1)

    This article describes how to set LUNs on a target to Read Only via Configuration Manager.

    If you want to move a Storage from one VRM to another, this procedure is needed in Order to retain your video footage until the desired Retention Time is over.
    All you need is the Configuration Manager on a PC in the same Network as the VRM.
    If you don’t have the Configuration Manager, you can download it here.

     

     

    risk2.jpg

    Please be aware that setting the LUNs to Read only will decrease the Capacity of the VRM,
    which might lead to a lower Minimum Retention Time then desired.
    Calculate upfront, if the available Storage is enough!

     

    1. Start the Configuration Manager and add the local VRM to the System.

       

      CM1.png

       

    2. Change to the Tab My devices and select the Target on the Storage Device you want to move.

      CM2.png

       

    3. Set all LUNs to the Type Read Only. It should look like this then.
      CM3.png

    4. Now press the button Set and acknowledge it in the next window.

      CM4.png

    5. After, the window looks like this and the LUNs are now in Read Only Mode.
      CM5.png
    6. Now you need to wait until your desired Retention time passed (eg 30 days), afterwarts you can remove the Storage from the VRM and add it to another VRM (In this Process the Storage needs to be Factory defaulted to work).
    Version history
    Revision #:
    2 of 2
    Last update:
    ‎02-01-2019 12:39 PM
    Updated by:
     
    Labels (3)
    Contributors
    Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--center-alignedIcon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48IC_gd_Check-Circle170821_Icons_Community170823_Bosch_Icons170823_Bosch_Icons170821_Icons_CommunityIC-logout170821_Icons_Community170825_Bosch_Icons170821_Icons_CommunityIC-shopping-cart2170821_Icons_CommunityIC-upIC_UserIcon--imageIcon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--left-alignedIcon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-grennIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48Icon--right-alignedshare-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-bag-black-48x48Icon-shopping-cartIcon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist